April 17, 2012

Mora Award Winning Libraries

Today we celebrate the 17 Mora Award Winning Libraries. Big cheers to them! As many of you know, my family and I established the Estela and Raúl Mora Award in 2000 to honor our parents and to motivate libraries, schools, and educational institutions to plan annual Día celebrations in April. Día is a daily commitment, but since we all enjoy celebrations (Mother's Day, Father's Day, etc.), we like to plan book fiestas celebrating kids too.

2011 Award
The Santa Ana Public Library (CA)
Springfield Public Library (OR)

2010 Award
The Arthur F. Turner Community Library of Yolo County (West Sacramento, CA)
Pima County Public Library (Tucson, AZ)
Santa Barbara Public Library System (CA)

2009 Award
San Francisco Public Library (CA)
Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library (KS)

2008 Award
Riverside County Library System (CA)
Charlotte Mecklenburg Library (NC)

2007 Award
Broward County Library (FL)

2006 Award
Kenton County Public Library (KY)

2005 Award

2004 Award
Providence Public Library (RI)

2003 Award
Corvallis-Benton County Public Library (OR)

2002 Award
Multnomah County Library (WA)

2001 Award
El Paso Public Library (TX)

2000 Award
Austin Public Library (TX)

(Links to individual libraries Día pages are here.)

Thanks to all of you who are planning, participating in or supporting Día celebrations this month. Let's all share bookjoy!

Your library could be the 2012 Mora Award winner!
(Application Guidelines)

No comments: